Skip to content

Minor Project Concept TRES

May 13, 2011

Yes, yes, I did. I changed it. Again. FOR THE THIRD TIME!!!!!!

Sigh. Well, the Fork & Spoon idea was okay, but I was having trouble narrowing it down to the essence of the story. Everything was just too big and impossible to achieve in 3 weeks. 3 WEEKS!!!!! On top of that, as I was doing some research and digging online for inspiration, I stumbled upon a short animation from a CalArts graduate of 2010 that had EXACTLY THE SAME PREMISE. Well, crapbags. So much for that idea. Down the bin it goes.

So after about an hour of hyperventilating because I had set an appointment with Kate the next day and now I have nothing to pitch, I sat down and started digging up any and all old ideas I could reinvent or reuse. After a few hours of muling and woolgathering, I decided to do a short about a moustache. That’s right. Because moustaches are awesome. And also because THIS is awesome. It will be my theme song while I animate this thing. It sure is catchy as hell, it’s been stuck in my head for a while now.

Here are the character designs that I’ve got so far, I’ve drafted up a super rough storyboard to go with it and trying to write out a proper script to send to Kate. Trying to narrow things down to its core so that it’ll actually be possible to animate in 3 weeks. So after some brainstorming chats with Ariel, Lindy and Alexandra, we’ve all decided to make contingency plans, which is to make an abridged version of whatever we have just to get the story across. So should things go awry and we run out of time to finish, the story will still come across just fine. Should we are lucky enough to have more time, then I’ll start putting extra bits back into the story. That’s looking pretty unlikely, from the looks of things though.

I really miss being able to sleep a decent night’s sleep.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

